PDA

View Full Version : Interesting article regarding success on Lifehacker

Wendy Summers
02-22-2013, 08:21 PM
When I was a young designer, I always asked other people how they got noticed for their work. The answer I most consistently received was "do good work." Now, when people ask me the same question, I respond with the same answer. Good work always speaks for itself. It's a self-promoting robot.
If you work in an agency or web department within an organization, let's shift that perspective from promoting your work to being considered for a promotion. Doing good work is a smaller part of the equation. My experience has demonstrated that most of the great opportunities go to people with magical attitudes. Maintaining a great attitude is far from automatic. It takes real skill to keep it positive.

http://lifehacker.com/5986162/why-quality-work-isnt-enough-to-get-ahead

What do you think -- is the article on target with its premise or not?

NightmareX0666
02-22-2013, 09:17 PM

What do you think -- is the article on target with its premise or not?

It does make sense and it can be seen in certain shows how that premise can work. If you ever watched Top Chef or Face Off - on an individual realm these people maybe fantastic at what they do, but in a group setting they can be seen as bossy, conflicted, not willing to try or learn something new, or just being a dick. Why would I hire someone who cannot work with others especially if it is crunch time and new ideas are needed.

I am getting my teaching credentials in order, and it is drilled into us with a good attitude it can make a world of difference on a student's ability to learn, how other teachers will view us, and easing a parent during a conference.

Hope this made sense somewhere...

BigDF
02-22-2013, 09:19 PM