PDA

View Full Version : Nuggets Clamp Down on Magic in 82-73 Victory

canihavu
02-12-2009, 06:59 AM
Nuggets Clamp Down on Magic in 82-73 Victory

Feb 11, 11:25 PM (ET)

By ANTONIO GONZALEZ

ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) -Maybe it was Disney World. Maybe it was the humidity. Or maybe they were just outmatched.

Whatever the reasons, the Denver Nuggets couldn't leave Orlando with a win.

Until now.

Carmelo Anthony had 29 points and eight rebounds, and the Nuggets ended a 15-game losing streak in Orlando with an 82-73 win over the Magic on Wednesday night.

"That's crazy man," said Denver guard Chauncey Billups, who was acquired from Detroit earlier this season. "I was a freshman in high school. That's wild right there."

Kenyon Martin scored 13 points, Nene added 12 and Billups had 11 points for Denver, which hadn't won in Orlando since March 10, 1992. Even so, the skid didn't seem to bother these Nuggets as much as being routed 106-88 by the Magic at home earlier this season.

"We knew that we hadn't won here since '92," Martin said. "But I think the fact that they had their starters in when all our starters were out and they were up by a significant margin (in that first game), I think we kind of took it personal."

Dwight Howard had 16 points and Rashard Lewis scored 12 for the Magic, who finished with a season low in points, a season-high 24 turnovers and were held to a season-low 30.4 percent shooting from the floor.

"We got absolutely dominated," Magic coach Stan Van Gundy said. "Not one guy had a decent night offensively. Our starters, every single guy had three turnovers. We couldn't even keep from getting the ball taken out of our hands. It was an embarrassing night for our players, for me, for everybody."

The Nuggets built a 20-point lead early in the third quarter, but then things got testy.