Thread: MalcolmX

Senior Member Platinum Poster

Default MalcolmX

How do people react today to MalcolmX and the idea that Black Americans will never be equal in America and should create lives separate from the rest of the country? This is a book review which I hope will generate a lively discussion.

When I was an undergraduate and studying American political history I was puzzled by MalcolmX, a figure for whom I have no sympathy or admiration. I understand how his articulate rage attracted and upset a lot of people in the civil rights era. An impressive speaker, yes, but was this Preacher Man articulating the wrong message at the wrong time? Does the separatist strain in Black American politics that reaches back to Marcus Garvey and Timothy Drew continue to matter to Black Americans? And what, from a hypothetical MalcolmX context, has Civil Rights achieved for Black Americans?

So I was impressed earlier this year when I read Manning Marable’s biography Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention. Marable, who died before the book went to print, assembled a research team that over ten years re-assessed the Autobiography Malcolm co-wrote with Alex Haley; conducting interviews with relevant people still alive, and scrutinising a mass of new and previously uninspected evidence. He has done an outstanding job in giving depth to a complex man who was, in my opinion, doomed to fail as long as he embraced a separatist creed in the USA.