Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hey! Get off my lawn. 5 Star Poster Odelay's Avatar

Default Why Obama is right about the Keystone XL pipeline project

Check out the problems encountered so far, in this article: http://switchboard.nrdc.org/blogs/as...r_sands_p.html

Santorum and Romney are demagouging on this issue saying that the Obama administration is against this project. That is demonstrably false when you look at the comments on record. From Obama, to Clinton to Chu, they've all said that they are very interested in this project but that it has to meet certain design standards and address concerns of the states that it will be built through. This article demonstrates why we need to put the brakes on this until we have a good design and construction and operating safeguards, in place.

I'm a Civil Engineer by education so big projects like this always intrigue me. Done right, this could be a good deal. On the other hand, refining tar sands oil has the potential of being very dirty. I really like Chu as energy secretary. He's smart and pragmatic. He's saying tar sands can be refined and limit the pollutants, but the technology to limit pollution has to catch up. That's yet another reason why delaying the construction of this pipeline makes sense. It allows engineers to do further research and further refinements to refining technology.

Seriously, I'm for the Keystone project, while a lot of liberals don't want to touch tar sands at all. But I really appreciate the pragmatic approach of Obama and Stephen Chu.

Hung Angel Platinum Poster trish's Avatar

Default Re: Why Obama is right about the Keystone XL pipeline project

Thanks, Odelay, for the link.