Default Nobel Prizes 2017

Default Re: Nobel Prizes 2017

I find the work of Richard Thaler the 2017 winner in Economics particularly interesting . It shows how human behavior departs from the rational in predictable ways in dealing with financial choices.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2017/10/09/bu...rd-thaler.html

filghy2 Silver Poster

I studied economics and I think Thaler was a good choice. I don't know much about the other fields: although I read novels I haven't ready any by Ishiguro yet.

Thaler's award is the third prize for behavioural economics/finance, after Daniel Kahneman in 2002 and Robert Schiller in 2013. There also been a few others awarded over the past two decades for work on market failures and imperfections. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...s_in_Economics

I think this is a good sign that the economics profession is making progress, though the neo-classical model still has too much influence. The big problem is that the results of this model are too often used by non-economists to support their own agendas, without an understanding of the assumptions and conditions on which these results depend.

1 out of 1 members liked this post.

Hung Angel Platinum Poster trish's Avatar

I’ve been an admirer of Kip Thorne since I was a kid. Read his Black Holes and Time Warps way back when, and later learned general relativity from the big black book of Gravitation that he coauthored with Misner and Wheeler. Met him at a conference a few years ago. He’s very engaging and amicable. LIGO is an immense interferometer for the detection of gravitational waves. After a decade of tweaks and enhencements, LIGO is now bringing us news of gigantic collisions and mergers of neutron stars and black holes.