PDA

View Full Version : Are You A Fan Of Spicy Food?

Dino Velvet
10-31-2011, 01:01 AM
Growing up in Southern California and also living in Texas I can't get enough spicy food. I almost don't feel like I've eaten something if it isn't spicy enough. I make some good Mexican Food and Fire-Hot Fried Chicken. I can't make it but I love many of the spicier Asian dishes too.

robertlouis
10-31-2011, 01:09 AM
Growing up in Southern California and also living in Texas I can't get enough spicy food. I almost don't feel like I've eaten something if it isn't spicy enough. I make some good Mexican Food and Fire-Hot Fried Chicken. I can't make it but I love many of the spicier Asian dishes too.

I'm an ace curry chef. Never use that anodyne crap called curry powder, make my own spice mixes and pastes and folks love it. I'm lucky in that in south Bedford, the nearest big town, there's a sizeable Asian community where I can buy everything I need including some of the veg you can't buy in other shops.

And it isn't all about heat - it's about spice blends that complement and draw out the flavours of what you're cooking. I'll compromise on prawns, but otherwise what I cook is totally vegetarian.

I'm the same with Thai, Malaysian etc, but not Chinese, as it depends almost entirely on chicken, to which I'm violently allergic - come out in a rash if I as much as touch it.

I've also eaten some seriously hot stuff in the US, Tejas in particular. Those folks love their chillis.

Kari
10-31-2011, 01:15 AM
No, does my arse no good what so ever...

robertlouis
10-31-2011, 01:20 AM

There's a Glasgow saying, Kari:

Madras in the evening, mad arse in the morning lol.

So you don't hit the curry mile in Rusholme that often then?

I miss Curry Alley (Gibson St) by the University in Glasgow.

Dino Velvet
10-31-2011, 01:23 AM