PDA

View Full Version : Chocolate Bastards?

GroobySteven
08-23-2011, 07:01 PM
I have not verified this but I just got this email from Change.org - it sounds too bad to be completely true. Hershey's is shit chocolate anyway, so it's not like I'd stop buying it but this sounds a bit scandalous.

When I was an 18 yr old student, I went on a US work exchange in an AHRC summer camp - 14+ hr days, 6 days a week, incl. cleaning up shit, showering people and having to sing and dance to Grease, despite this being the late 80's. I was given $150 for the whole summer (9 weeks) and a return flight UK-USA. I spent the $150 and money I brought traveling on a Greyhound bus for 3 weeks.
I was such an abuse, that I only returned for the following 7 yrs in a row :-)

This however, sounds as shit as their chocolate.

"Hundreds of foreign exchange students paid to come to America this summer, expecting opportunities to learn English and experience American culture.
Instead, the exchange students found themselves forced to work in back-breaking, round-the-clock production lines packing chocolates at a Hershey's plant in Pennsylvania at low wages. When the students complained, Hershey's threatened to have them deported.
Now the exchange students are fighting back. They just walked out of the Hershey's plant and into the streets to protest the abusive conditions and to demand big changes to Hershey's deceptive "cultural exchange" program.
And they've teamed up with the National Guestworker Alliance to start a petition demanding that Hershey's compensate the exchange students, and turn their work into good jobs for local workers. Click here to add your name. (http://www.change.org/petitions/hershey-stop-exploiting-student-guestworkers?utm_source=action_alert&utm_medium=email&alert_id=gpSTNTrfSK_HjZkmuqPgG)