PDA

View Full Version : Wine & Spirits Advice

bulldog
04-05-2008, 05:21 AM
I work in a liquor store and thought that I would help some people on here, who are willing, try some new stuff. Keep in mind I am no expert, and have not even come close to seeing or drinking every wine, beer or liquors out there. My specialty is liquors, however I do work with 2400 differents kinds of wine daily so I know some about wine and champagne :lol: Beer, we have about 100-150 types of beer at the store, so I have got those down, but there are TONS of microbrewery items we dont carry so :shrug

thanks to budeluv77 for giving me the idea to start this thread

Ben

bulldog
04-05-2008, 01:00 PM
With Wine, post whether you want sweet or dry, red or white and what type of food(if any) you are going to be eating with it

With Beer, post what is your usual brand and what types you wanna stay away from i.e. wheats, darks, reds

With Liquors, just try to give me what type of flavor you want out of it the most and how much of a bite you want it you have.

Wino the SuperHero
04-06-2008, 04:14 AM
i want to try absinthe. have you had it? whats the best way to drink it?

bulldog
04-06-2008, 04:48 AM
well there is the now legal stuff and the illegal stuff. The difference being, you have a much more likelyhood of seeing that little green man with the illegal stuff, cuz it is hallucinogenic. The legel stuff, I have not tried, but one of the vendors that works our store tried to get us to start carrying it, my boss wouldn't have it though lol.

It is primarily made with 3 main herbs, Anise, Fennel, and Grande Wormwood. It will have a hell of a kick at 144 proof(can be more/less depending upon the manufacturer). It is historically diluted with water and sugar before it is drunk.

If you want even more info, the site I would recommend is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Absinthe

Ben

kalina
04-06-2008, 04:54 AM