PDA

View Full Version : Why do genetic women play transsexual roles in TV

Legend
11-12-2007, 02:45 PM
Probably the most insulting things to transsexuals in my opinion is that major roles that are designed for transsexuals aren't even played by actually transsexuals but genetic women(ugly betty and nip/tuck)or simply guys pretending to be transsexuals(soldier boy).Do they not think that real transsexuals can act,i mean if im a director or producer and one of my characters was based on a real transsexual i would want the real thing.Does that really insult you girls when they cast roles that are meant for you to gg or guys pretending to be transsexuals or is it not that big of a deal?

SarahG
11-12-2007, 02:58 PM
Probably the most insulting things to transsexuals in my opinion is that major roles that are designed for transsexuals aren't even played by actually transsexuals but genetic women(ugly betty and nip/tuck)or simply guys pretending to be transsexuals(soldier boy).Do they not think that real transsexuals can act,i mean if im a director or producer and one of my characters was based on a real transsexual i would want the real thing.Does that really insult you girls when they cast roles that are meant for you to gg or guys pretending to be transsexuals or is it not that big of a deal?

Sometimes they don't want a real trans girl. With ugly betty its a comedy and not what I would call realistic. Having a real tgirl in there, acting, talking, thinking like a real tgirl probably isn't what the writers wanted in the show.