PDA

View Full Version : Martial Arts

elo
10-01-2007, 02:21 AM
Is someone practicing one?If yes wich one and why?Because you´ve seen it in movies and you liked what you have seen and wanted to be like them?Do you wanted to defend yourself?...

I´m curious about your experiences.

Tail Gunner
10-01-2007, 02:40 AM
Use to study Korean Tang Soo Doo and have a 2nd. red belt with it, did some thai kick boxing for awhile which is rough but if you like contact it's a fun time...:)

Toro
10-01-2007, 02:54 AM
I started taking Tae Kwon Do when I was 6 years old and studied it for 12 years. I stayed with it because I had already gone far, but it's not a very practical martial art as far as self-defense goes. When I got into my late teens, I studied Muay Thai to round out my striking skills; TKD is 70% kicking, and Muay Thai uses a lot of boxing, elbows and knees, so I sort of combined the two. I would block other TKD students' kicks with my legs, I used a different stance, and it was pretty cool...but still only really practical for tournament fighting, not so much for street self-defense.

However, the US Army taught me Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (they call it 'Army Combatives', but it is Gracie Jiu Jitsu). It is serious stuff. Most fights end up on the ground, and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu teaches you how to survive on the ground and incapacitate your opponent before he does the same to you.

It really depends on what your purpose is... if you are looking for a way to protect yourself, you may want to look into either Krav Maga or Jiu Jitsu. Krav Maga is excellent; while Jiu Jitsu teaches you how to take out an opponent in a fight, the theory behind Krav Maga is to take your opponent out before the fight really even gets going. It teaches you to overwhelm your attacker using whatever you have on hand - whether it's your cell phone, a shoe, your keys or just your body.