PDA

View Full Version : Spelling

hillbilly
01-03-2005, 08:25 PM
is it me or is there a direct correlation between trannies and their admirers and an inability to spell or use correct grammar?

lol it amazes me! it's alarming!

is it in the genes? i think i'm onto something :wink:

Vicki Richter
01-03-2005, 10:23 PM
You can't capitalize so I don't know what you are talking about. My spelling and grammar is beyond reproach.

Elpachio
01-03-2005, 10:38 PM
YOu cant count me either, Im the editor of an international business magazine and I have a BA degree in English Literature and an A grade A-level in English language.............lol.

I do see a big increase in the use of unneccessary apostrophes these days though and it drives me mad...........

Welcome back Vicki. How was your op?

Realgirls4me
01-03-2005, 10:43 PM
It isn't so much the spelling that eats at me as much as what has become the vogue use of not capitalizing to begin a sentence (Hee-hee, Hillbilly!), along with the following: run-on sentences, misuse of terms (e.g.,Jealousy for Envy, your for you're, their for they're, et all), violating the three rule on punctuation, and last but not least, riding the cap key as a couple of posters in here are known for doing. I have other pet peeves, but the cap key riding issue, and conversely, lack of utilizing the cap key to start a sentence, are both the mark of laziness imho. There is no excuse for either. It's akin to driving on the shoulder of a road in order to circumvent traffic. If a poster thinks what they have to say is of any value, then why not make it as reader-friendly as possible by giving the post some semblance of ebb and flow that proper capitalizing and punctuation provide ? Why should a reader have to work hard at deciphering what another is attempting to say ? I will always forgive a bad speller, as we all can make a spelling gaffe here and there, but one with bad mechanics, punctuation, et all, no. Never.